Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

The Muppet Movie: The Nearly 35th Anniversary Edition (Blu-ray + Digital Copy): Jim Henson, Frank Oz, Jerry Nelson, Richard Hunt, Dave Goelz, Charles Durning, Austin Pendleton, Scott Walker, James Frawley, Jack Burns, Jerry Juhl Reviews and Coupon

~ Jim Henson
List Price: $26.50
Price: $18.86 & FREE Shipping on orders over $25. Details
You Save: $7.64 (29%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Another blast from my past!

When I started dating my wife in June of 1979, I took her to see this movie at a theater that showed 2nd run movies for a buck. We loved it then and still do today. Read more

Published 2 days ago by David W. Nesbitt

This is a great purchase. I strongly suggest any one to buy this. Well...

This is a great purchase. I strongly suggest any one to buy this. Well worth the money for this product.

Published 4 days ago by Nick Morris

The Muppet Movie [VHS

It is very good movie, kids like it and VHS is good condition. Thank you and have a good day!

Published 5 days ago by Mai P. Pham

always a classic

my favorite childhood movie! gald it was remade in HD! looking forward to the extra special features! I love the muppets~

Published 5 days ago by D. Saxton

Great movie.

How could anyone not love the muppets. This is a classic movie and never gets old. Hilarious and reminds me of being a child.

Published 7 days ago by betsyross

Beware of Digital Copy

I really was looking forward to the digital copy of The Muppet Movie. I had added other Disney movies directly into iTunes, but this one will not let you download it to iTunes at... Read more

Published 9 days ago by Emily Eells

*SKIP IT*

Jim Henson himself wasn't happy when this movie came out.
Now I know why.
Don't get me wrong, I'm a big Muppets fan but
this movie is very heavy handed, boring and... Read more

Published 11 days ago by LJ

Awesome movie, excellent sounds and picture restoration.

I'm not sure what others are complaining about with the poor restoration of this 35 year old film! I do professional image processing and they did an amazing job of brighting,... Read more

Published 12 days ago by David Andora

False Advertising

These "Digital Copy" releases are not Digital Copy and don't include iTunes copies. Amazon and Disney should adjust their product discriptions. Read more

Published 12 days ago by James D Rodden

Best Muppet Movie Ever!

A Classic Movie, when it comes to Muppets!!! Kermit and the whole gang know how to act!! The Rainbow Connection!!

Published 12 days ago by Charles


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful

Creme de la Kermie.June 3, 2004

By David C. Roller

Format:VHS Tape

Mini review of one of my alltime 10 favorite films.

Many people question why this is on my top 10. I think the question is why is it not on theirs? This is pure entertainment for the whole family. It is a movie that works on all levels. The story is enchanting. The music is charming and whimsical. The muppetry is fantastic. It is hard to imagine a better opening to a movie than the rainbow connection sequence.

The movie is a cornucopia of awesome quotes. I think my favorite still remains: If frog's couldn't hop, I'd be gone with the Schwinn.

The cameo roles are excellent as well. Steve Martin excels as a put upon waiter. Dom Delouise is impressive as a hollywood agent adrift in a swamp and Mel Brooks steals the show as a german mad scientist.

128 of 155 people found the following review helpful

Great movie--but what the HEY? Censorship! November 5, 2003

By A Customer

Format:DVD

I love the Muppet Movie. Its nods to film noir and buddy films, the music by the fabulous Paul Williams, the celebrity cameos, the characters--especially Miss Piggy and Fozzie.

Now then, I always watched the Muppets very aware that the movies were working on both the child and adult level, and happily put in the DVD anticipating my favorite muppet joke of all: when Kermit walks into a bar after having lost Piggy and says, sadly, "I'll have a grasshopper, please."

Great joke! Kids won't know what a "grasshopper" is or that he is boozing over being stood up--they'll just tune out til the music!

So why did they cut it from the DVD?

Especially when they kept the visual that Kermit drank alllll the champagne after Piggy left, and Rowlf's assertion that every night he has "a coupla beers." This PC thing has gone too far. I suppose it's not enough to deduct a whole star--except it's my all time fave muppet moment.

Oh well, love the movie. And love the DVD option of watching it in French, where they have to change Piggy's trademark "Moi!" to "Me."

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful

"A bear in his natural habitat....a Studebaker!" December 16, 1999

By M.M.

Format:VHS Tape

This is one of the first films that I ever remember seeing, and it is still one of my favorites today. This story about the Muppets' cross-country excursion to Hollywood is beautifully told through the wonderful vision of Jim Henson. It answers the question about how the Muppets first came together, and offers the audience a glimpse into the lives of the various eccentrics that made up 'The Muppet Show' before they became famous. My favorite is, of course, The Great Gonzo, the "prince of plungers." His out-of-this-world weirdness always adds more fun to the chaos of the situation, as Kermit and Co. try to outrun the evil Doc Hopper and make it to Hollywood on time to audition. I also love the big Studebaker that Kermit and Fozzie drive around in as they sing "Moving Right Along." All of the songs are memorable, from "Rainbow Connection" to Gonzo's "I'm Going to Go Back There Someday." I have seen this movie a million times and I will watch it a million more. It's just one of those films that you can never get tired of viewing.

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful

Classic Movie...Below Average DVD June 8, 2001

By iansomniak

Format:DVD

The original classic Muppet Movie has finally arrived on DVD. Unfortunately, it did not get the treatment it deserves. The only special feature of note is "Jim Frawley's camera test" (which I found pretty entertaining). The so-called "Muppetisms" are just a couple of very brief jokes from Kermit and Miss Piggy. The picture, for whatever reason, is very grainy most of the time...but at least the colors are bright and vivid. The sound is low when the characters are talking and louder during musical numbers, requiring frequent volume adjustments. The disc contains the preferred widescreen version of the film on one side, and a completely unnecessary pan-and-scan version on the other. Folks, I ask you, wouldn't you rather have a plethora of special features on that second side? How about 2 or 3 episodes of The Muppet Show? Why not some sort of a commentary on the film? Perhaps a biography of Jim Henson? The Muppets (and Jim Henson) deserve a Special Edition, and this disc is far from it.

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful

Excellent movie, awful DVD August 1, 2003

By D

Format:DVD

THE MUPPET MOVIE is a classic. It is enjoyable by all ages. Sony Columbia's DVD release of THE MUPPET MOVIE does it little justice. On the plus side, a widescreen version of the film is offered, so the entire picture can be seen.

But, the bad things: This DVD has only one extra, a camera test. This is actually very entertaining, and a worthy special feature. Some Muppetisms and trailers are included, but they are not any good.

There is so much that could have been done for this DVD release. The picture quality is awful, scratches, dirt and grain are everywhere.

Where is the original theatrical trailer? Where is the TV special that promoted the film, "THE MUPPETS GO HOLLYWOOD"? Where are the audio commentary and interviews? If Columbia decides to re-release a Special Edition, I will be first in line.

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful

Phenomenal quality movie that DVD quality fails to capture June 16, 2001

By Motown Collector

Format:DVD

This movie was truly the work of the Genius that Jim Henson and Frank Oz created along with the many Muppet Performers and Writers of this film. However, Columbia/Tri-Star has made a terrible mistake in not giving this DVD the clean up or detail that it truly deserves. I bought this and Tootsie on the same day, and Tootsie looks and sounds beautiful. This film looks like I pulled out an old video. What happened to the art of remastering? There was virtually no audio or video cleanup, and I was truly disappointed. Such a brilliant film deserves more. Yes, I too would like bonuses, but want a cleanup more than anything else. The DVD version was a waste. Movie = 5 Stars! DVD = 1 Star Film Test = 5 stars, but so little in the bonus area. Aren't there more bonuses out there?

I sincerely hope the folks at the DVD company will work with the Folks at Jim Henson Productions on getting a quality product out there, with bonuses it deserves. Here's some: Clean the movie (remaster audio and video) Outtakes? Early short films? Audio commentary by Frank Oz and other Muppet performers? Documentary? Muppet Show episode? Muppets 30th Anniversary TV special (CBS) Muppets Tribute To Jim Henson (NBC - Disney)

So many possibilities... Hey JH Productions, let's get the complete Muppet Show DVD collection out there!


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

Jim Henson vaulted Kermit, the famous floppy-armed frog, and his Muppet pals to the big screen with this charming 1979 musical adventure. Like the TV show that inspired it, Henson and director James Frawley playfully acknowledge movie clichés and conventions and allow the characters to address the camera in asides, like a Hope and Crosby road film for the 1980s. The ambitious singing frog decides to leave his swamp and conquer Hollywood, gathering a group of friends along the way (Fozzie Bear, Miss Piggy, Gonzo, and more) and bumping into oodles of guest stars making tongue-in-cheek cameos (my favorite is the tip-of-the-hat appearance by Edgar Bergen and Charlie McCarthy). Meanwhile, despicable fast-food king Charles Durning pursues Kermit, hoping to make him the spokesfrog for his Frogs-Legs restaurant franchise. Austin Pendleton costars as Durning's sad sack henchman while guest stars include James Coburn, Dom DeLuise, Madeleine Kahn, Steve Martin, Milton Berle, Bob Hope, Carol Kane, Cloris Leachman, Mel Brooks, Richard Pryor, Telly Savalas, Elliot Gould, Orson Welles, and Big Bird. Paul Williams penned the bouncy, song-filled score. You'll believe a frog can sing! --Sean Axmaker

Product Description

Celebrate The Nearly 35th Anniversary of the ultimate frogs-to-riches story with the one that started it all—The Muppet Movie. Laugh along with the mostly-true story of how the Muppets got their start, now for the first time ever in vibrant Blu-ray hi-def picture and sound.

From the very first "plunk!" of Kermit's banjo playing "The Rainbow Connection" (Oscar nominee, Best Original Song, 1979), to the hysterical road trip that brings our fearless frog together with Fozzie, Gonzo, Animal and most importantly of all, Miss Piggy, join the jam-packed heartwarming hilarity, outrageous antics and big-shot Hollywood cameos. It’s bursting with hilarious bonus extras including an all-new Frog-E-Oke sing-along with your favorite Muppet songs.

As Kermit and the gang sing—"Life's like a movie!" Make The Muppet Movie part of your family, and have the time of your life as the Muppets share laughter and fun with "the Lovers, the Dreamers...and You."

Product Details

www.reviewblues.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.